Fred Jacobs a étudié le luth et le théorbe avec Anthony Bailes au Conservatoire Sweelink d'Amsterdam. Member fondateur du Locke Consort (premiers prix à Londres et Boston dans les années quatre-vingt), il joue régulièrement avec des ensembles comme The Gabrieli Consort and Players, The Parley of Instruments, Currende Consort, les Amsterdam Bach Soloists, l'orchestre baroque des Nederlands Bachvereniging et le Monteverdi Continuo- Ensemble de l'Opéra de Bavière (Münchner Festspielpreis 1997).

Anne Azéma, Michael Chance, Max von Egmond, and Maarten Koningsberger sont parmis les nombreux chanteurs qui ont choisi Fred Jacobs comme accompagnateur régulier. Il se produit dans des festivals de musique ancienne importants comme ceux d'Utrecht, Beaune, York et San Antonio. Parmi les chefs d'orchestre sous la baguette desquels il a travaillé on note Gustav Leonhardt, Christopher Hogwood, Robert King and Andrew Parrot. Il joue aux opéras de Nancy, Bath, Munich Amsterdam et Florence. Ses enregistrements CD sont variés et nombreux.

Avec Carolyn Watkinson et en stages, Fred Jacobs enseigne les airs anglais accompagnés au luth. Il donne également des masterclasses aux conservatoires de Rotterdam, Arnhem et Amsterdam (où il enseigne le luth depuis 1995).


anneye bio   programs   press   discography   live!   teaching   news   contact

Fred Jacobs studied lute and theory with Anthony Bailes at Amsterdam's Sweelink Conservatory. A founder member of the The Locke Consort (first prizes during the eighties at London and Boston), he plays regularly with such as the Gabrieli Consort and Players, The Parley of Instruments, Currende Consort, the Amsterdam Bach Soloists, the Baroque Orchestra of the Nederlands Bachvereniging and the Monteverdi Continuo- Ensemble from the Bavarian State Opera (Münchner Festspielpreis 1997).

Many, such as Anne Azéma, Michael Chance, Max von Egmond, and Maarten Koningsberger have Fred Jacobs as their regular accompanist. He performs at major early music Festivals such as Utrecht, Beaune, Venice, York and San Antonio. Conductors have included Gustav Leonhardt, Christopher Hogwood, Robert King and Andrew Parrot. He performs with the opera houses of Nancy, Bath, Munich, Amsterdam and Florence. His recordings on CD are varied and numerous.

With Carolyn Watkinson, Fred Jacobs runs workshops on the lute-accompanied English songs. He also gives masterclasses at the conservatories in Rotterdam, Arnhem and Amsterdam (where he was appointed to the lute, in 1995).


anneye bio   programs   press   discography   live!   teaching   news   contact